Skip to content

Adam Carolla and Tom Leykis Get The Pink Slips

February 19, 2009

Adam Carolla Show and Tom Leykis Show are cancelled. Head to 971freefm.com for the final Live Webcast.

3912120

UPDATE:
Tom Leykis starts Thursday show with “Leykis 101” and he is planning to talk about the future of the show at 5PM Pacific Time. Leykis has a “no-cut contract” until 2011.

Starting Friday February 20th, 2009 at 05:00PM, KLSX as we know it will cease to exist. CBS Radio, the parent company of KLSX is set to throw away the FM Talk Radio format and replace it with Top 40 Radio.

Editorial:
Way to stand out from any other radio stations, CBS. Tag, end sarcasm.

This change of format left number of hosts losing their jobs, notably Adam Carolla and Tom Leykis. Along with Carolla and Leykis, the casualty list extends to Frosty Stilwell, Heidi Hamilton, Frank Kramer (all three from “Frosty, Heidi & Frank” show), Tim Conway Jr., and to some extent Danny Bonaduce.

CBS Radio feels the urge to “amp-up” their bottom line by switching to AMP-Radio format, all Top 40 all the time.

Editorial:
Let’s see how the FM Radio Market look like in Southern California. They are either playing the same “Top 40” junks or speaking something other than English. Congratulations CBS Radio, you’ve just blended in perfectly with everybody else. By the way, I can still listen to podcasts and there are great Internet Radio Station such as Pandora and Last FM. I’d like to mention that I have an extensive collection of music on my shelf, I’ll just listen to them instead of your “top” 40 radio.

Adam Carolla has announced that he’d be going the Leo Laporte way and producing his own podcast at www.adamcarolla.com.

Tom Leykis is expected to make announcement on his plan after being booted of CBS Radio. The Tom Leykis Show is popular with 24-to-54-year-old-men demographic.

Stay tuned.

30 Comments leave one →
  1. Jim permalink
    February 22, 2009 10:06 am

    Great! The most popular talk radio program in history cut from the CBS line up. Way to go. Top 40 hits instead of Leykis is like serving dog crap instead of prime rib. Bon appe’tite

  2. rolando mota permalink
    February 26, 2009 8:24 pm

    The hell with CBS cheap greedy basters.

  3. John Roberts permalink
    February 27, 2009 12:51 pm

    Good, Leykis is a liberal douchebag anyway! And while that is bad enough, he actually has the nerve to call himself a Libertarian. He is of the same ilk as Bill Maher, another liberal who masquerades as a Libertarian. And both of them are complete morons!

  4. Joe permalink
    March 2, 2009 5:21 pm

    Frosty Heidi and Frank were better than Leykis and Carrola put together!!!! They will be missed

  5. Ken permalink
    March 3, 2009 7:28 pm

    This absolutely sucks!!!!!!!!! I moved to PA in 1998 and first heard the Tom Leykis Show on AM 1230. Station changed format and I lost Tom for almost 8 years. I finally found him again through POD casts thanks to ESPN giving me the idea to look for him. I have been reunited for the last 2-3 years. Thanksfully, I have saved the POD casts for the last several years and have them to go back to for entertainment. I do not always agree with him (I am married, a no-no), but he is the most entertaining person on the radio today. In my opion better than Howard Stern which I still listen to today on Sirius. I hope Tom gets picked up by a smarter station (hopefully not on Sirius ofr XM). Prove these dumb a____ wrong.

  6. RANDY permalink
    March 10, 2009 7:19 pm

    out of all the radio stations in L A i never thought 97.1 would never change like it did. They ALL will be missed.

  7. Tysoon permalink
    March 11, 2009 7:11 pm

    Where else are we gonna get proper schooling?
    Tom is the best person for the gig, he told it like it is… SAY NO TO OLD HAGS!!!

    Too bad… Im gonna have to listen to him on the net now…

  8. Jerri permalink
    March 23, 2009 6:22 pm

    I am checking every day online to see where Tom Leykis, Frosty Heidi and Frank and Tim Conway Jr. are going to be. That is the station(s) I will listen to. The CRAP that is being played on 97.1 is not something that I or anyone else I talk to is listening to.

    CBS are you hearing this? You made a HUGE mistake when 97.1 talk radio went off the air.

  9. aasim permalink
    March 24, 2009 5:13 am

    CBS you made the biggest mistake of your life ..that format was the best .

  10. Ledog3 permalink
    April 4, 2009 8:32 pm

    Yup…ol’ fat boy with the whiskey and cocaine voice has come to the end of the road…Too ugly for the tube and too burn’t out and stale for anything else..

  11. BOB permalink
    April 4, 2009 9:27 pm

    I think it is the best thing that could of happened to that fat slob!
    I also hope he never finds another station that would ever want him he his the biggest pig i can’t belive the way he talks about females.
    BYE BYE ASSHOLE

  12. Mike permalink
    April 6, 2009 2:19 pm

    Top 40 is crap. Leykis Rules!

  13. SMG permalink
    April 7, 2009 3:05 pm

    Tom is just one more failed liberal on the radio, good riddens!

  14. Wesley permalink
    April 9, 2009 9:52 pm

    Replacing the top rated drive time show in the largest radio market on the west coast? With top 40!? You are gonna loose sooo much money. HAHAHAHAHAHAHA! Thats me Laughing at the decision. I didn’t listen that much anyway. I prefer Mark Levin. But, alot of your target demographic will never listen to your station again. You had an exclusive that worked?! 93.9 did the same thing, check their ratings after they dropped Country. They may have improved, but I doubt it. your ratings will plummet and whoever hires Leykis will make a fortune. Just a humble opinion.

  15. Shella permalink
    April 16, 2009 8:13 pm

    Big mistake CBS radio. Tom and Frosty, Heidi, and Frank is the only radio I used to listen to. Bad move… you will loose ratings, I can gurantee it. No one cares about top 40 hits anymore… I will never listen to your station again! I am pissed!

  16. Bob permalink
    July 6, 2009 3:49 pm

    Tom lykis can kiss my lilly white azzz, stupid bastard though he know everything, he is such a bompass azz, I hate em, I can’t stand anyone with his “Oh I have a six diget income” good luck with that tomazz hahaha.

  17. Bridget Prince permalink
    July 12, 2009 9:33 am

    Love seeing Tom Leykis get the boot! Leykis and his listeners are just a bunch of guys with too tender feelings who’ve been dumped and now want to seek revenge on all women. I wouldn’t care if his philosophy were just “screw as many women as you can but don’t commit,” but his philosophy is “do whatever you can, including deception and manipulation, to get a woman in bed.” I can’t figure out why any of you would follow anyone who gave that kind of advice. This is the same guy who laughed when a male listener told Leykis he’d taken his girlfriend’s dog and left it on the roadside because she was letting the dog in bed. I say dump the girl–not the poor dog. This is the kind of person you all follow and worship? Like I said, good riddance, Tom. I’m sure you’ll find another format out there because there’s really no accounting for bad taste, but maybe at some point you could try to be a decent human being. If not, well, I do believe that we all get what we deserve, eventually. Yours will one day come knocking on your door…

  18. Bridget Princes permalink
    July 22, 2009 6:20 am

    How gay of you Bridget Prince

  19. ledog3 permalink
    July 29, 2009 8:54 am

    One does have to wonder what all the little dik shy and insecure pussies that followed Leykis are going to do now? How are they going to “get laid for less money”…? How are they going to get up the nerve to do ANYTHING with females? Yup, all you guys that eat chickenwings, wear aviator sunglasses and a baseball cap on backwards are indeed going to be lost little Leykis lemmings.

  20. Cranky permalink
    August 21, 2009 11:45 am

    this is because “YOU are a LOOOOOOSER”…

    hahaha. my boss used to listen to this shit at work, tom says the same thing over and over and over again. %90 of his shows are the exact same thing and content. someone calls him in and tom calls him a looser over and over again, and then mabey some chick calls in and he calls her a looser for not dating someone rich.

    The worst part of the show is thats ALL it is. There is nothing else. He uses the same lines over and over again, zero creativity, zero talent except to state the obvious and toot his own horn. You could make a sound board with everything he ever says. I guess that sort of shit flies in the west coast.

  21. Larry permalink
    August 24, 2009 8:09 am

    Cranky—Are you part of this World??????????

  22. elloydaz permalink
    September 1, 2009 4:39 pm

    Tom Leykis has his moments (providing a semi-education for young males) and “Frosty, Heidi & Frank show” are generally entertaining ; I hate to see them go, but for Carolla, let him suck %@#!; the angry @#$%& little man.

  23. Anthony permalink
    December 10, 2009 8:05 pm

    Everyone on the radio station will be missed. I will especially miss Tom, I loved to listen to him chew men up because they’re too cowardly to break up with their abusive girlfriend, it would always make me laugh.

  24. bad chad permalink
    December 14, 2009 3:33 pm

    tom and adam were the best, anyone who thinks different just dosn’t get it. And thats fine, I dont like Rush, but who cares? The anger from the haters is whats moronic. People want entertainment but want there opinions only and not whats real. Tom said it right, “people who can do, those who cannot criticize”. Replaced with top 40? Are you kidding me!

  25. SoCal Soldier permalink
    January 1, 2010 1:31 pm

    What is up with that! As if, some retarded Top 40 radio show is EVER going to pull the ratings those talk radio shows did, especially Tom Leykis. Top 40 isn’t entertainment, they for K-earth and all those other oldies stations those old buzzards can listen to. This is huge loss for Talk Radio.

  26. Claude Davy permalink
    April 8, 2010 8:15 pm

    CBS – What on earth are you thinking about? Top 40 fm? Direct TV and Dish network already have that market corner. You had something indeed that would cause you alot of controversy! But you would have survived it. All you had to do, was create a sub-company to buy them instead, run it independantly as a sister company and retain your profit margin for your investors! Your lucky Tom has that dumb contract! Sirus would have picked him up in a heart beat, I think Leykis is entertaining! Controversal etc, I like listening due to all the different people that call in to voice their view points in a yelling fashion. Sometimes Leykis is right on and other times wayyyy off! But he is entertaining. Its Good Talk Radio that most people can’t get enough of ! Oh, he is Vulgar to, but so is Howard Stern. CBS , it would be nice to hear from you on this matter. I know that sometimes we listeners don’t see the Big Picture but other times we are also right on!

  27. Jack permalink
    June 2, 2010 2:34 pm

    I used to listen to the talk radio station from morning when I went to work to night when I got off. Then they replaced it with what they call the “top 40” and now it’s the same crap all the time and I haven’t switched back to that station. I’ll miss em all, I listened for over 5 years. Oh well, I just listen to Michael Savage show now, Savage Nation. It’s the only good show left. He’s so good that they actually banned him in Britian, can’t say that about anyone else.

  28. Leykis 101 fan permalink
    August 30, 2010 2:27 am

    I gotta put in my 2 cents. I lisented to Leykis back when he was with KFI so I am a longtime fan. Also likes Frosty Heidi and Frank Danny Ducci too.
    I guess CBS knows what they are doing.But from our standpoint I dont even listen to radio anymore.Heck I have to resort to Bill Handle and Tim Conway Jr. with that what the hell did Jessie Jackson say crap. Way to go CBS you mrssed up big time

  29. So Cal Medic permalink
    March 16, 2011 8:53 pm

    Tom’s show was very entertaining. I was a daily listener for about 2 years but i always wondered how a fat ugly guy had the balls to talk all his smack.Well tom still rules. Medic 1 out to enjoy his medicinal mary.

Trackbacks

  1. Daily Thought: The Adam Carolla Show | The Angry Rant

Leave a comment