Skip to content

Canon Vixia HG21 Raw AVCHD Sample

February 1, 2009

I was planning to post Canon Vixia HG20 raw AVCHD sample until I get to play with Canon Vixia HG21. Both cameras share similar specifications with the exceptions of larger hard drive and electronic viewfinder on Canon Vixia HG21.

vixia_hg21_still_frame

http://37prime.com/diskimages/vixia_hg21.zip 88.4MB
I forgot to check the date on the camcorder. It says that it was recorded on April 25th, 2008. Check out a different video sample below.

vixia_hg21 2nd clip

http://37prime.com/diskimages/canon_vixia_hg21.zip 87.4MB

Inside the ZIP file, there is an mountable ISO file.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Mal permalink
    March 2, 2009 10:11 pm

    Thanks for the sample clips.

  2. vincent permalink
    March 10, 2009 5:58 pm

    Thanks, this saved me a a lot of time.

  3. lover permalink
    June 30, 2009 4:13 am

    great. u r the best

  4. gaximus permalink
    February 18, 2010 11:19 pm

    I’m guessing the anit shake was turned off

  5. tester permalink
    October 13, 2015 12:07 pm

    Thanks for uploading a sample.mts files. There are many other samples but converted to youtube standards, which makes them useless for testing purposes.

    I used this video long time ago, maybe by 2009, to test a computer video card performance.
    Now, I also want to test another computer.

    A previous test in the second computer, did not work 5 years ago, but now it plays very smooth. It may be due to a programming improvement in player’s components or by the fact that I am testing a lighter operating system configuration (Debian/xfce). When I install the components to have SAMBA, other lighter video.mts sample was not played fluently.
    I have not tried this heavier one under such configuration, but it’s obviously expected not to be fine.

    I would like to know how this video was recorded, I mean which frame rate, progressive or interleaved, which frame rate. The program that I am using to play it does not show bitrate, nor a correct fps rate.

    I found something strange on the size of the files. The xxx.zip (88.4Mb) file is smaller than the extracted xxx.mts! (93.6Mb).
    Before someone tells that I am an stupid to be surprised of that, because that is what compression is for, let me say that one can not compress a file, again and again, reducing it’s size, because the compression algorithms re-encode the files removing redundancy, usually the second compression has no redundancy to remove and the resulting file eve results slightly larger than the compressed one.
    The h.264 codec used in AVCHD videos in with the MTS extension, are expected to be compressed in a very efficient way. But the simpler and general purpose compression method of zip, could produce an smaller file, why?
    I suppose that it has something to do with the packaging method of the container, but I do not know nothing about the h.264 or mts formats.

Leave a Reply

