Skip to content

Scam Alert: Fake OpenOffice.org download.

February 25, 2011

I was going through the server log parsing out spammy referrer links and one of the sites triggered a pop-up:

First off, the official OpenOffice.org site is in its name: OpenOffice.org.

This galleries.secure-softwaremanager.com must be spreading malwares. It actually checks the Operating System. Since I was using Camino Browser on Mac OS X, it returned an error message:

I am adding this url to the site blacklist.

By the way, if you are looking into downloading OpenOffice.org, you might want to check LibreOffice. It is a project forked from OpenOffice.org development.

Whois information on secure-softwaremanager.com:

http://www.networksolutions.com

Visit AboutUs.org for more information about SECURE-SOFTWAREMANAGER.COM
<a href=”http://www.aboutus.org/SECURE-SOFTWAREMANAGER.COM”>AboutUs: SECURE-SOFTWAREMANAGER.COM </a>

Registrant:
Pinball Corp
3600 1 36th place Se.
Bellevue, WA 98006
US

Domain Name: SECURE-SOFTWAREMANAGER.COM

————————————————————————
Promote your business to millions of viewers for only $1 a month
Learn how you can get an Enhanced Business Listing here for your domain name.
Learn more at http://www.NetworkSolutions.com/
————————————————————————

Administrative Contact, Technical Contact:
Pinball Corp        neteng@pinballcorp.com
3600 1 36th place Se.
Bellevue, WA 98006
US
425-279-1200

Record expires on 08-Dec-2011.
Record created on 08-Dec-2010.
Database last updated on 26-Feb-2011 00:44:52 EST.

Domain servers in listed order:

NS1.PINBALLCORP.COM
NS2.PINBALLCORP.COM

What is this pinballcorp.com?

Visit Safenames at www.safenames.net
+1 703 574 5313 in the US/Canada
+44 1908 200022 in Europe

Domain Name: PINBALLCORP.COM

[REGISTRANT]
Organisation Name: Pinball Corp
Contact Name:      William Freeman
Address Line 1:    3600 136th Place SE
Address Line 2:
City / Town:       Bellevue
State / Province:
Zip / Postcode:    WA 98006
Country:           US
Telephone:         +1.0114252791177
Fax:
Email:             wfreeman@pinballcorp.com

[ADMIN]
Organisation Name: Safenames Ltd
Contact Name:      International Domain Administrator
Address Line 1:    PO Box 5085
Address Line 2:
City / Town:       Milton Keynes MLO
State / Province:  Bucks
Zip / Postcode:    MK6 3ZE
Country:           UK
Telephone:         +44.1908200022
Fax:               +44.1908325192
Email:             hostmaster@safenames.net

[TECHNICAL]
Organisation Name: International Domain Tech
Contact Name:      International Domain Tech
Address Line 1:    PO Box 5085
Address Line 2:
City / Town:       Milton Keynes MLO
State / Province:  Bucks
Zip / Postcode:    MK6 3ZE
Country:           UK
Telephone:         +44.1908200022
Fax:               +44.1908325192
Email:             tec@safenames.net

The Data in the Safenames Registrar WHOIS database is provided by Safenames for
information purposes only, and to assist persons in obtaining information about
or related to a domain name registration record.  Safenames does not guarantee
its accuracy.  Additionally, the data may not reflect updates to billing
contact information.

As suspected, pinballcorp.com looks fishy.

Advertisement
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 85 other followers