Skip to content

AVG fails again, flags Google Toolbar as Trojan horse.

September 9, 2009

I am running AVG Free Edition on Windows XP and it flags Google Toolbar as Trojan horse. Once again, the said Trojan horse does not present in AVG’s own online database at the time of this post.

AVG Free identifies Goggle Toolbar as Trojan horse Proxy.AHIY.

Previously AVG flagged iTunes as malware.

avg_fails_google

One Comment leave one →
  1. Grandma and Aidan permalink
    September 10, 2009 2:57 am

    I am sooooooooooooo glad I Google searched this “Google Toolbar Trojan” issue AVG displayed and found YOU! I was about to pull my hair out when I saw my NEW Vista PC had a Trojan AND in relation to Google??? I ALMOST ok’d the removal but the warning of system wipe out (crash) made me think twice. I updated my AVG, hit scan again & left the house. When I returned AVG was no longer open and reviewing the “scan history”, the Trojan warnings were all gone from the list? There were 4 warnings…Hummmmm
    ANOTHER LOL when I also see that iTunes generated a false Trojan. I JUST did my 1st iTunes download last weekend for my ever so Cute & Funny 3 year old grandson who LOVES the Sir Mix A lot version of Baby got Back that he heard for the 1st time on Disney’s Shark Tale. You say Butt or Bum and he laughs and laughs hard!? Anyhow, maybe the Trojan popped up due to both iTunes & Google in my case.

    AT ANY RATE I THANK YOU FOLKS FOR PUTTING THIS INFORMATION ON LINE FOR FOLKS LIKE ME THAT WOULD AND/OR COULD HAVE WIPED OUT MY NEW PC! Thank you, Thank you, Thank you! (and my grandson thanks you too because he didn’t loose his new favorite song).

Leave a Reply

